2022 Division Conference Awards

Delta Tau Delta Fraternity recognized its top chapters for the 57th year with the Hugh Shields Award during the Fraternity's Division Conferences in February.

Hugh Shields Award for Chapter Excellence

Established in 1965, the Hugh Shields Award for Chapter is named for the late Hugh Shields (Indiana University, 1926), the first executive vice president of the Fraternity. The award recognizes overall excellence in a chapter and is presented to the top 10 chapters in the Fraternity. Chapters receive a gavel and a Hugh Shields flag.

The 2021 Hugh Shields recipients (Number of years the chapter received the Hugh Sheilds Award including this year in parentheses followed by number of years the chapter has been named to the Court of Honor)

Beta Zeta–Butler University (16, 24) Gamma Xi–University of Cincinnati (13, 15) Zeta Omega–Bradley University (8, 15) Zeta Zeta–Morehead State University (5, 8) Theta Eta–University of South Carolina (8, 10) Gamma Psi–Georgia Institute of Technology (5, 13) Epsilon Phi–Southeastern Louisiana University (21, 24) Beta Tau–University of Nebraska-Lincoln (21, 27) Epsilon Nu–Missouri Science and Technology (4, 9) Delta Gamma–University of South Dakota (15, 26) Zeta Mu–Robert Morris University (2, 3)

In addition to the Hugh Shields Awards, these chapters also received a Court of Honor Award for 2021.

Court of Honor Award

Also established in 1965, the Court of Honor Award is presented to the top 20 chapters in the Fraternity. For the 2021 reporting year, all chapters were asked to submit the Fraternity Awards/Accreditation Report (FAAR). Chapters were asked to provide documents that measure compliance with the Fraternity's minimum operating standards, exceptional facets of their operations and Delta Tau Delta programming. Chapters were graded on excellence in chapter finance, recruitment, membership education, academics, alumni relations and community service. Chapters are honored with a gavel.

The 2021 Court of Honor (years awarded including this year in parentheses) The Court of Honor includes all the Hugh Shields recipients and the chapters listed below.

- Epsilon Iota-B–Kettering University (22)
- Zeta–Case Western Reserve (11)
- Iota Iota–John Carroll University
- Epsilon Upsilon–Marietta College (14)
- Theta Kappa–University of Nebraska-Kearney (10)
- Gamma Pi–lowa State University
- Gamma Kappa–University of Missouri
- Alpha–Allegheny College (24)
- Iota Psi–Northeastern University (7)

Chapter Growth Award

- Beta Eta, University of Minnesota
- Beta Zeta, Butler University
- Delta Nu, Lawrence University
- Epsilon Delta, Albion College
- Zeta Omega, Bradley University
- Delta Psi, University of California-Santa Barbara
- Theta Zeta, University of San Diego
- Delta Epsilon, University of Kentucky
- Delta Zeta, University of Florida
- Zeta Chi, University of Southern Mississippi
- Epsilon Delta, Texas Tech University
- Gamma Tau, University of Kansas
- Beta Nu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- Delta Upsilon, University of Delaware

JDRF Service Award

- Gamma Xi, University of Cincinnati
- Beta Gamma, University of Wisconsin
- Zeta Omega, Bradley University
- Epsilon Gamma, Washington State University
- Theta Eta, University of South Carolina
- Kappa Zeta, College of Charleston
- Zeta Zeta, Morehead State University
- Delta Epsilon, University of Kentucky
- Delta Alpha, University of Oklahoma
- Epsilon Beta, Texas Christian University
- Delta Gamma, University of South Dakota
- Kappa Theta, University of Connecticut
- Iota Psi, Northeastern University

Eastern Division Awards

Alumni Service Norm Hetrick (University of Pennsylvania, 1996)

Most Improved Chapter

Iota Tau–Sacred Heart University

Outstanding Chapter President

Chris MacDonald (Sacred Heart University, 2022)

Outstanding Chapter Treasurer

John Di Bartolomeo (University of Delaware, 2023)

Outstanding Alumni Advising

Greg Lucsko (John Carroll University, 2008)

Northern Division Awards

Alumni Service Joe Musolf (University of Minnesota, 1991)

Most Improved Chapter Iota Sigma–North Dakota State University

Outstanding Chapter President Brett Baun (Bradley University, 2023)

Robert Ferguson Advisor of the Year Nigel Manick (UC-Riverside, 2003)

Outstanding Community Service Zeta–Case Western Reserve University

Southern Division Awards

Alumni Service John Williams (University of Florida, 1972)

Alumni Service John Baar (University of The South, 1975)

Most Improved Chapter

Theta Eta–University of Southern Carolina

Outstanding Chapter President Jason Wang (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2021)

Outstanding Chapter Treasurer Kennedy Fairey (University of South Carolina, 2023)

Outstanding Alumni Advising Darrin DeMoss (Morehead State University, 1989)

Western Pacific Division Awards

Most Improved Chapter Epsilon Gamma–Washington State University

Outstanding Chapter President Anthony Banis (University of Washington, 2024)

Outstanding Chapter President Nathaniel De La Torre (University of Southern California, 2023)

Outstanding Chapter Treasurer Henry Christiansen (University of Southern California, 2023)

Alumni Service Kris Troha (Clemson University, 1995)

Alumni Service Nick Stout (College of Idaho, 2014)

The James Bowersox Award for Outstanding Alumni Advising Ray Ocampo (University of Oregon, 2007)

Shelter Pride Gamma Mu–University of Washington

Western Plains Division Awards

Alumni Service

Ryan Caldwell (University of Nebraska at Kearney, 2002)

Alumni Advising

Tony Trausch (University of Nebraska at Kearney, 2010)

Most Improved Chapter

Omicron–University of Iowa

Outstanding Chapter President

Joshua Hoins (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2023)

Outstanding Chapter Treasurer

Evan Mullen (University of Kansas, 2023)

Outstanding Chapter Treasurer

Braden Griffiths (Baker University, 2023)

Shelter Pride Delta Chi–Oklahoma State University